top of page

Sweet potato curry soup + all about turmeric


We’re only about a month away from spring! Some of the trees in Nashville have started to bloom, and we finally had a sunny, 70+ degree day. Have you ever been woken up by birds singing outside your window? I have, and it only ever happens around springtime. Yes, spring makes me feel like Cinderella.

Alas, I’ve been told the groundhog saw his shadow (don’t know how I missed that one, since I have family in Punxsutawney) so it looks like we have a few more weeks of this rainy, dreary February to see out. When it’s drizzly out, there’s only one thing I can think of to make: creamy, warm bowls of soup.

I know my last post was a soup recipe too, but I’ve recently been experimenting with pureed soups. I’ve made a pretty dreamy tomato soup (maybe I’ll share that later!), as well as this sweet potato curry one.

I didn’t used to be a fan of pureed soups because, well, I need more texture than that… I had only ever tried boxed soups that were too thin and watery, too salty, too little flavor, or all three. It isn’t until I tried making my own that I realized their full potential.

The great thing about pureed soups is that they don’t have to lack texture! Tomato soup can be as chunky as you like, and while I prefer this one smooth and creamy, it’s wonderful with a few toppings. I topped mine with coconut flakes (to go with the curry flavor), but you could use soup crackers, peanuts, green onions, or anything else you’d like!

Let’s talk about the nutrition: sweet potatoes have a good amount of fiber, some natural sugar, and a little bit of protein per 1 cup serving. Their major selling point, however, is the vitamin A: almost 4 times the recommended daily value!

Another reason to love this soup: turmeric. Turmeric contains a compound called curcumin, which is anti-inflammatory, anti-oxidant, and anti-aging. There are studies to suggest that it protects against diabetes and other inflammatory diseases, can improve brain function, may help with depression, may be good for digestion, and may reduce cholesterol. Whew! That was a lot.

However, curcumin has poor bioavailability in the body, meaning it is not readily digested or absorbed, preventing the body from reaping these benefits. Studies have shown that eating turmeric with black pepper (which contains a compound called piperine) can increase curcumin’s bioavailability by 2000%! Curcumin is also fat-soluble, meaning you should eat a little fat with it for higher absorption. Good thing we’re topping this soup with toasted coconut!

This soup, then, is a perfect combination: it tastes like a sweetly spiced, warm and earthy coconut-y dream. Curry contains turmeric (it’s what makes it yellow), but I like to add a little more to increase the earthy flavor, and ginger adds some zing to the dish. (Feel free to leave out the extra turmeric if you don’t have any, but after all those health benefits I listed, you're better off going to the store to grab some! I add it to everything, from smoothies to salad dressings to rice bowls to soups like this one. Look out for a turmeric mango smoothie bowl in the future!) Black pepper gives this soup a kick, while the slightly sweet potatoes balance out that bite.

I hope you love this soup! It is probably the cheapest meal I’ve made on the blog so far, and many of these ingredients you may already have lying around. It pairs nicely with a salad or a piece of meat for lunch; I’ve even had it for a snack on some of these dreary February days.

Happy cooking!

Sweet Potato Curry Soup

Serves 6

Ingredients

1 tablespoon olive oil

1 cup onion

3 medium to large sweet potatoes (about 3 pounds, or less if you want a thinner soup), peeled and cubed

1 tablespoon minced fresh ginger (I used this)

4 cups chicken stock

¼ teaspoon salt

¼ teaspoon black pepper

¼ teaspoon cinnamon

½ teaspoon turmeric

1 teaspoon curry powder

6 tablespoons unsweetened coconut flakes, toasted

Directions

  1. Sauté the onions over medium heat in olive oil until translucent, about 5 minutes. Add the ginger and stir for about 2 minutes.

  2. Add sweet potatoes, cooking for about 4 minutes. Stir constantly.

  3. Add chicken broth and bring to a boil. Reduce to simmer and let simmer for 20 minutes, until sweet potato is cooked through.

  4. Add all of the spices. Using an immersion blender or a normal blender, puree the soup until smooth.

  5. Divide among 6 bowls and top with coconut flakes. Serve immediately.

  6. Otherwise, the soup will keep in the fridge for about 4 days, or in the freezer for a few months. Enjoy!


53 views0 comments
bottom of page